Coach and Volunteer of the Year Nominations

We are excited to announce our nominees for the awards of Coach and Volunteer of the Year. The nominees are as follows:

Coach of the Year
1. Randy Brookes
Randy was a former sprinter from UCLA and is now the Head Coach of The Gazelles Track & Field Club with training locations in Clarington, Durham, Scarborough, Markham and Peel.  Randy is also the owner of Running For Your Life Sports Performance Group.

2. Sean Doucette
Sean is a coach with the Brantford Throws Club. His athletes have had nothing but good things to say about him, and he is extremely driven to help them achieve their best.

3. Derek Hackshaw
Derek is a coach with the Newmarket Huskies Track Club and was head coach for this year’s successful Canada Summer Games team.

4. Ken Hall
Ken has been a para-athlete coach for many years, and has been working with the Peel Halton Cruisers Sports for the Physically Disabled Club.

5. Terry Radchenko
Terry has coaches with the University of Toronto Track Club since 2004, guiding various Varsity Blues stars to incredible heights. His primary focus has been junior development, middle distance and cross-country athletes.

6. Richard Parkinson
Richard was a national level thrower in his day, and has since turned his life-long passion into a career. He has successfully coached provincially, nationally, and internationally, including 9 national team coaching assignments.

Volunteer of the Year

1. Irko Lemecha
Irko has volunteered at various indoor and outdoor AO meets, in various capacities, including track, hurdles, pole vault. He additionally has helped recruit a half dozen other friends and members of his community to volunteer as well. Irko and several friends have also begun the process of becoming an official.

2. Brian McClelland
Brian volunteered his time to assist with the development of AO policies, and he has officiated at several AO meets.

3. Irma Orzeck
Irma has volunteered at several AO outdoor meets and helped with registration.

4. Joel Osei
Joel has volunteered at numerous AO meets, and took a volunteer lead role at the Canada Summer Games Trials.

5. Trevor Parkinson
Trevor volunteered his time as a photographer at many AO indoor and outdoor meets.

6. Jake Thomson
Jake has volunteered his time at several AO indoor and outdoor championships as an announcer.

Congratulations to the nominees, we look forward to seeing you at this year’s Awards Gala and Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony where we will announce one winner from each category.

Tickets can be purchased until Wednesday September 27, 2017: click here.