2014 AO Hall of Famers inducted and award winners announced this past weekend

Saturday September 27 featured a sunny and warm late afternoon, outside, as well as inside, as more than 250 people showed up to celebrate a tremendous year for Ontario athletes, and to honour several individuals for their contributions to our sport at this year’s “Celebrating Excellence in Athletics” Awards Banquet & Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. The gala, held at the Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites, featured numerous outstanding presentations.  A special thanks goes to Kate Van Buskirk, who was the evening’s emcee for the 4th consecutive year. Kate also received the award for the most outstanding distance runner in the Sr. Female Distance category. Our evening’s special guest speaker, Sultana Frizell, added energy, humour and positivity to all in attendance. (ok, well, not necessarily to the runners, but hey, you can’t please everyone 😉 Special Awards of the evening, included the Athlete, Corporate Partner and Volunteer of the Year Awards. Sultana Frizell and Derek Drouin were co-winners for the Athlete of the Year award. The Sponsor Award went to Race Merchandise Inc, while the Volunteer Award was awarded to Val Sarjeant.

Athletes Inducted into the Hall of Fame were Mark McKoy, Silvia Ruegger, Ann Peel, Yvonne Saunders-Mondesire, Jane Haist, Angela Bailey and Marita Payne-Wiggins. The Builders inducted this year were Enrico Toscano, Bill Heikkila and Rolph Lund. Ian Anderson and Peter Manning received recognition for their previous inductions into the Hall of Fame from previous years in which they were not able to attend. Doug Smith was inducted into the Ontario Masters Hall of Fame.

There were numerous outstanding performances and we congratulate all athletes on their achievements this year and we thank everyone who participated in the nomination process and supported the event. We look forward to the 2015 Banquet and another year of Excellence in Athletics in Ontario!

Thanks goes out to the staff and volunteers who helped make the evening a success.

Award Winners for the 2014 AO Awards Banquet


  • Most Outstanding Track Performance (Male): Austin Smeenk
  • Most Outstanding Track Performance (Female): Virginia McLachlan
  • Most Outstanding Field Performance (Male) : Rajvir Saini
  • Most Outstanding Field Performance (Female): Renée Foessel


  • Bantam Girls: Elizabeth Martin
  • Midget Girls: Xahria Santiago
  • Youth Girls:  Kyra Constantine
  • Junior Women: Tia Thevenin
  • Senior Women: Noelle Montcalm
  • Masters Women: Karla Del Grande
  • Bantam Boys: Daunte Henriques
  • Midget Boys: Nathan Friginette
  • Youth Boys:   Shermar Paul
  • Junior Men:   Andre Ford-Azonwanna
  • Senior Men:   Aaron Brown
  • Masters Men:  Earl Fee


  • Bantam Girls: Madison Greig
  • Midget Girls: Emily Cohen
  • Youth Girls:  Erinn Stenman-Fahey
  • Junior Women: Katelyn Ayers
  • Senior Women: Kate Van Buskirk
  • Masters Women: Krista DiChene
  • Bantam Boys: Joshua Zelek
  • Midget Boys: Mathieu Plamondon
  • Youth Boys:   Robert Heppenstall
  • Junior Men:   Justyn Knight
  • Senior Men:   Matthew Hughes
  • Masters Men:  Mike Sherar


  • Bantam Girls: Autumn Bigger
  • Midget Girls: Keira Christie-Galloway
  • Youth Girls:  Jamilah James
  • Junior Women: Danielle Quinn
  • Senior Women: Alysha Newman
  • Masters Women: Gaby Szanto
  • Midget Boys: Logan Panek
  • Youth Boys:   Tristan Slater
  • Junior Men:   Paul Galas
  • Senior Men:   Derek Drouin
  • Masters Men: Thevarajan Sinnathurai


  • Bantam Girls: Sarah Saldutto
  • Midget Girls: Grace Tennant
  • Youth Girls: Sam Buck
  • Junior Women: Bailey Dell
  • Senior Women: Sultana Frizell
  • Masters Women: Marie-Josée Le Jour
  • Bantam Boys: Callan Saldutto
  • Midget Boys: Tony Elliott
  • Youth Boys:   Noah Rolph
  • Junior Men:   Eli Pawliw
  • Senior Men:   Timothy Nedow
  • Masters Men: Boris Zaitchouk

Combined Events

  • Midget Girls: Victoria Fair
  • Youth Girls: Alexis Brenzil
  • Senior Women:  Jillian Drouin
  • Youth Boys: Sam Fennell
  • Junior Men: Pierce LePage
  • Senior Men: Damian Warner
  • Masters Men: Ralph Cilevitz

Photos (supplied to AO by Paul Craig): Click on image to enlarge